## Office of Register of Wills and Clerk of Orphans' Court

JEAN A. PAPAY



JENNY Y.C. CHENG, ESQ.  $\bullet$ 

SOLICITOR

• REGISTER OF WILLS AND CLERK OF THE ORPHANS' COURT

> Carbon County PO Box 286 Jim Thorpe, Pennsylvania 18229 Telephone: (570) 325-2261

## REQUIREMENTS FOR MARRIAGE LICENSE APPLICANTS

- The Commonwealth of Pennsylvania now requires all applicants be at least 18 years of age, regardless of parental consent.
- The Commonwealth of Pennsylvania no longer requires blood tests before applying for a marriage license, but applicants will be asked family history information for genealogy purposes.
- Applicants may apply at any one of the 67 counties to be married in anywhere in the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania.
- Applicants must fill out the entire marriage application and send it via email to <u>registerofwills@carboncourts.com</u>. Please include both applicants' phone numbers and clear copies of the following documents:
  - Both applicants' state-issued IDs
  - Both applicants' birth certificates
  - Both applicants' social security cards
  - If either applicant has been previously married, please also include a copy of the original divorce decree or death certificate dissolving the previous marriage.
- Once the above information has been received by our office, the applicants will be contacted via phone to set up appointment date. Both applicants will have to appear in person to be sworn in and sign the application in front of us.
- Applicants will now physically receive their marriage license on the day of their appointment; however, the state law still stands that the license is not valid until three days after application date.
- After the 3-day waiting period, the marriage license is only valid for 60 days. We highly recommend having a set wedding date and officiant before applying for your marriage license.
- The application fee is \$60.00 we accept cash, money order, or debit/credit with a 3.5% convenience fee.